Name	
Date	Per

ARTICLES OF CONFEDERATION - STUDENT-FRIENDLY VERSION

Preamble: To everyone who reads this document, we the undersigned delegates send greeting.

Articles of Confederation and permanent union among the states of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

Article I: The new nation will be called "The United States of America."

Article II: All states are independent from one another. The state governments will retain all powers that are not specifically given to the national Congress.

Article III: The states agree to maintain friendly relationships. They will defend one another in times of trouble and protect their shared liberties and mutual welfare.

Article IV: To maintain friendly relations among the states, all free inhabitants can move among the states and conduct business therein without extra taxes. If fugitives from one state are living in another state, they should be sent back to face prosecution. All records and judicial rulings applying to individuals in one state shall be accepted by all other states.

Article V: Every year, state legislatures will send representatives to the national Congress. Each state shall send no less than two and no more than seven delegates, and each state will have only one vote in Congress.

Article VI: No state can enter into a formal alliance with any foreign power. Neither states nor Congress shall give any title of nobility to anyone in the United States. Two or more states cannot enter into their own treaty. States cannot maintain standing armies or navies without Congress's approval. Unless invaded, no state shall wage war without permission from Congress.

Article VII: In times of war, state legislatures will appoint all officers under the rank of colonel and maintain their armies.

Article VIII: To pay for war, states will receive money from the national Treasury in proportion to amount of land they own.

Article IX: The national Congress will have the power to declare war, negotiate foreign treaties, settle disputes between states, regulate currency, direct the operations of land and naval forces, and borrow money from the states.

Congress cannot carry out any resolution unless nine of the thirteen states agree.

Congress will have a president to organize debate for a one-year term.

Article X: A committee of the states will be given the power to run the United States during the times Congress is in recess.

Article XI: Canada will be allowed admission into the United States. Any other colony requesting admission will need nine votes in Congress.

Article XII: Congress pledges to repay any money borrowed from individual states during the Revolution.

Article XIII: All states agree to abide by the Articles of Confederation. To amend the Articles, Congress and all of the state legislatures must unanimously agree.



"The Federal Pillars," Massachusetts Centinel (Boston, MA), January 16, 1788. Courtesy of the Library of Congress, Serial and Government Publications Division